Open Forum

Expand all | Collapse all

Update security for Workflow Maintenance Access

  • 1.  Update security for Workflow Maintenance Access

    Posted Sep 13, 2019 10:36 AM
    Currently, when I go into tools to create a workflow, I do not have the required access the below screen is all I have, in our test environment I have the workflow maintenance option, how do we update but not in production, how can do we update this?

    Thank you,




    ------------------------------
    Lucille Garcia
    Multi Service Technology Solutions, Inc
    Overland Park KS
    ------------------------------
    Conference-GPUG_200x200


  • 2.  RE: Update security for Workflow Maintenance Access

    TOP CONTRIBUTOR
    Posted 28 days ago
    Lucille,
    If you do not have this question answered can you give me more details I am not fully understanding what you need.  I would check the security for the user to make sure it is the same in test as live.  If you give me more information I am sure i can assist.
    Tanya

    ------------------------------
    Tanya Henderson
    Senior Consultant
    S2 Technology
    Park City UT
    ------------------------------

    Conference-GPUG_200x200


  • 3.  RE: Update security for Workflow Maintenance Access

    GOLD CONTRIBUTOR
    Posted 27 days ago
    By default, access to the Workflow Maintenance window is given to users via the ADMIN_COMPANY_013* security task.

    The ACCOUNTING MANAGER* security role, again by default, is the only role that assigns user the ADMIN_COMPANY_013* security task.

    POWERUSERS, of course, would have access to the Workflow Maintenance window as well.

    One other note, only POWERUSERS will see all of the workflow types in the Workflow Maintenance window, otherwise non-POWERUSERS that have access to this window will only see the window and nothing in it.

    The exception to this is those users whose Windows user account is specified as a Workflow Manager for a workflow type, in those cases, the user will see that specific workflow type, but that is it.

    For example, let's say the Windows account of CONTOSO\JOHNDOE is assigned as the workflow manager for the Purchase Order Approval workflow type but that is it, and his GP login is not a POWERUSER, but has access to the Workflow Maintenance window. When this user logs into GP, as long as he's also logged onto the machine as CONTOSO\JOHNDOE, in the Workflow Maintenance window, he'll see the PO Approval workflow available to him to add/remove/modify as needed, but won't see any other workflow types.

    If this user was not logged on as CONTOSO\JOHNDOE, but still the same GP login that has access to Workflow Maintenance, he would be able to access the window, but not access any workflow types.

    Let me know if you have any questions on what I mentioned here or if this doesn't answer your question.

    Thanks,

    ------------------------------
    Derek Albaugh
    Sr. Support Engineer
    Microsoft
    Moorhead MN
    ------------------------------

    Conference-GPUG_200x200


If you've found this thread useful, dive deeper into User Group community content by role